Configure default expiration dates

This article explains how you can simplify your business operations by setting a default expiration period for all future estimates.

Roland Ligtenberg avatar
Written by Roland Ligtenberg
Updated over a week ago

Default expiration date settings ensure that your estimates have an expiration date applied and communicated to your customers.

When you set the default expiration date for your estimates, it'll be automatically applied to all the future estimates you create in the system. However, if you have an estimate that is an exception to the default rules, you can always change or remove the expiration date for individual estimates as needed. This allows you to adjust the expiration date for a particular customer or situation. Learn more about adjusting the expiration dates for estimates on web and mobile here.

How to configure the default expiration date (web only)

To configure the default expiration date, navigate to your Account Settings, select the Estimates tile, and then select Expiration date from the left-hand side menu:

By default, the expiration date settings are turned off. To set them on, click the pencil icon. This action will open a modal with a checkbox:

Checking the checkbox will open the Expire after input that you can use to provide the default expiration period. You can provide any number greater than 0 and specify if this is the number of days, weeks, or months.

Once you provide the desired expiration period, click Save to save it. From now on, each newly created estimate in your system will have the expiration date applied to it automatically.

How is the expiration date calculated?

The expiration date is calculated based on the following formula:

The estimate's creation date + default expiration period = expiration date.

For example, if you create your estimate on March 1st, and your default expiration date period is set to "2 weeks ", your estimate will expire on March 15th.

Can I change or turn off the default expiration date settings?

You can change the default operation date by simply changing the value provided in the Expire after input.

You can turn off the default settings if you no longer want the expiration date automatically applied to your estimates. In that case, you can turn the default settings off entirely by unchecking the Default expiration date checkbox and clicking save.

When exactly will the estimate expire, and what will happen to it?

The estimate changes its status to “expired“ after the day that is indicated as the expiration date has passed. For example, if the expiration date on your estimate is set to March 15th, it will expire the moment March 15th ends (after midnight).

An expired estimate will appear as "expired "in your system:

Your customers cannot approve an expired estimate. Once the expiration date passes, they can no longer click the approve button. Instead, they will be encouraged to contact you if they wish to accept the deal:

Related Articles

Did this answer your question?