All Collections
Jobs, Estimates, Events, & Sales Proposals
Add or adjust the expiration date on estimates (web and mobile)
Add or adjust the expiration date on estimates (web and mobile)

This article explains adding, updating, or removing an expiration date from a single estimate on the web and mobile (iOS and Android)

Roland Ligtenberg avatar
Written by Roland Ligtenberg
Updated over a week ago

Applying an expiration date to your estimates enables you to set clear expectations with your customers by communicating how long your estimates are valid. It also saves you time because you no longer need to manually identify and manage expired estimates. You can also set up a default expiration period for all your future estimates created in your account. Learn more by reading: Configure default expiration dates.

Add, update, or remove the expiration date on the web portal

The expiration date component is located on the estimate details view under the estimate number. If you set up the default expiration period in your default settings, the expiration date field will be pre-populated when you create your estimate. Otherwise, the component will be empty:

Click the + ADD EXPIRATION DATE button to add the expiration date to your estimate. This action will open a modal with a date picker. Use the date picker to select the desired expiration date and click save to confirm your choice. This will apply the chosen expiration date to your estimate.

Click the expiration date component to update the expiration date on your estimate. You can select any date you want and update the expiration date at any moment.

Specifically, you can update the expiration date if the estimate has already expired (this will change the estimate’s status from “expired“ to its previous status).

You can also remove the expiration date entirely by clicking the “x“ icon next to the date component:

Add, update, or remove the expiration date on mobile

On mobile, you can add, update, and remove the expiration date in a similar way to how you do it on web. The expiration date component is located on the estimate details view and will be pre-populated if you have default expiration date settings set on your account.

To add the expiration date, tap the Expiration date button:


This will open a date picker component. Use it to select the desired expiration date and save your choice:

To update the expiration date on mobile, tap the expiration date on the estimate details view or the pencil icon next to it. Select the new date from the date picker:

If you want to completely remove the expiration date from the estimate, tap the Remove expiration date button and confirm your choice:

How is the expiration date communicated to my customers?

The expiration date will appear on the PDF preview of the estimate:

And on the web-based customer’s preview:

When exactly will the estimate expire, and what will happen to it?

The estimate changes its status to “expired“ after the day that is indicated as the expiration date has passed. For example, if the expiration date on your estimate is set to March 15th, it will expire the moment March 15th ends (after midnight).

An expired estimate will appear as "expired "in your system:

Your customers cannot approve an expired estimate. Once the expiration date passes, they can no longer click the Approve button. Instead, they will be encouraged to contact you if they wish to accept the deal:

Related Articles

Did this answer your question?