What is it?
You can save your customers card directly to their profile for charging on future jobs
You can request a card on file from your customer, they will fill out a credit card request form and you will be notified when they save their card
Jobs paid with a card on file will be charged at a card-not-present fee of 3.49%.
If the card is close to expiration either you or the homeowner will be able to update the expiration date when a new card is issued
How do I get started?
After you create a customer you will have an option to add a credit card under the Payment method section on the customer profile. The customer can read you their card number over the phone or you can send a request to the customer and they can fill out their credit card information on their own.
Add credit card
This provides a simple and fast option for you to save a credit card directly to the customer. You will have to confirm the email that will be notified when the card is charged, and going forward the card will be saved for future charging.
Request card on file
This option allows you to send an email or text message request to your customer which gives them access to a simple form to add their card. This allows for the customer to quickly and easily save their card.
Starting from December 2023, you can request a card on file by email and SMS from the mobile apps. Ability to send SMS is contingent on successfully completed onboarding, this process is outlined here.
Customer profile view after the card has been saved
After the card has been saved (either by you or your customer) the saved card will display on the customer profile. You can either remove or replace the card from this location.
Note - when the card on file is saved, both you and your customer will receive a confirmation email that the card on file has been saved successfully for future charges.
Saving a card on file via invoice
Your customer can also save the card on file when paying for an invoice. To ensure that they are able to do this the customer can save a card on file option is enabled:
After the customer clicks the Pay button on their invoice, their card will be charged and saved so that you can charge this card on future jobs.
Charging a customer’s card on file
If you are working from a web browser, the customer’s card on file will show up as an additional payment option. Click the Pay button and simply charge the card on file:
Note that when charging the card on file, you are required to send a receipt to the homeowner via email. By doing this, you reduce your risk of chargebacks and give the homeowner visibility into jobs paid through the card on file.
If you or your techs are in the field, you can charge the customer’s card on file through your mobile device. To do so is easy. From the checkout screen, select the Next button:
If the customer has a card on file saved, charge for the job with the saved card on file on the next screen.
If the homeowner requests to have the card on file removed, you can do so through the Remove button, and if the homeowner would like to pay through another method you can click the ‘Use other payment method’ button.
Frequently asked questions
Will my customer receive a receipt when I charge their card?
As part of charging a customer’s card on file, it is required to notify the customer of the charge through an emailed receipt. This helps ensure the customer recognizes the charge and decreases the possibility of chargebacks if the charge is not recognized.
How can the card on file be updated to a different card?
The card holder will have a link available in their receipts to update the card information. Updating the card will take immediate effect and future jobs can be charged using this updated card.
The expiration date on a customer's card can be updated on the job details page if they request it.
How can the card on file be removed?
Occasionally a saved card on file will need to be removed, either because the customer requests the card to be removed or to facilitate adding a different card. The homeowner can remove their card on file through the receipts for previous charges. You can remove the card before charging it on the job details page.