The customer's credit card payment failed, how do I update the card?
If the plan 'Continues Until Customer Cancels' does the customer's card get automatically charged?
Yes. Service Plans are a subscription much like online streaming services. The system will automatically charge the card on file year after year, or at any other billing frequencies you allow for that plan.
How do I refund a Service Plan payment to the customer?
Please see How to Refund Service Plan Payments
What is the 'Payable by Cash, Check, or Other' option?
In order to automate as much of the Service Plans feature as possible, accepting only credit card payments for your plans can be best for your business. This way both indefinite plans or plans with a defined end date billed at 6 months, quarterly, or monthly, will automatically charge the credit card on file.
Note: If you accept cash, check, or other forms of payment and do not collect for the full price of the plan upfront, it will be up to you to collect on payments when they are due. You will see these plans in the Due for Billing section of your Service Plans Dashboard when they are due.
Because of this, it is recommended that if you are not collecting for the full price of any given plan upfront that the customer should pay by credit card.
Can I accept more than one form of payment for Service Plans?
No. Only one form of payment can be applied to a customer's Service Plan. If the customer is on a billing cycle (every 6 months, quarterly, monthly, once a year on indefinite plans) the same form of payment is required for all instances.
If for any reason the billing type needs to be changed, the customer's current plan must be cancelled and a new one issued to be paid for by the new method.
What if we don't charge for plans in advance?
If you prefer to collect for Service Plan visits at the time of services rendered rather than through the Service Plans feature, you'll need to utilize $0 Service Plans. Through this model you will need to create a plan that has no price, accept all plans on behalf of the customer, use the invoice generated by scheduling the service plan visit to charge the customer for said visit.
Note: When adding a $0 service plan to a customer they will get a confirmation of their new plan with you company.
I accidentally created a service plan visit as a regular job, what do I do?
Existing invoices can be linked to a Service Plan visit from the customer's profile. Go to the customer's profile > Click the downward facing arrow to the right of the address the Service Plan is assigned to > Select the Service Plan in question > Scroll down to the Maintenance Schedule.
Hover over the visit that has occurred and click the edit pencil to the right. Next to the visit name select There is an invoice attached to this visit. From there you will be able to attach any invoice under this customer's profile.
This can also be done from the job itself. Please see Associate a Job as a Visits for a Service Plan
I made an add-on a certain price, but when the plan saved it was few cents less. Why did this happen?
Because we have the ability to accept monthly/quarterly/bi-annual payments through Service Plans these fractions must be accounted for in add-ons as well. When the plan is saved, the system divides the add-on price by 12 and then re-adds it for the yearly total.
In order to achieve round numbers for add-on prices. the best practice is to choose a number that is divisible by 12.
Do my customers get an invoice/receipt every time they make a payment or need to make a payment?
No. Service Plans are a subscription like online streaming services. The system will automatically charge the card on file. You will see those who pay by Cash/Check/Other in the Due for Billing queue. These payments can be applied from the Service Plans dashboard
When a customer's plan is going to expire will they get a notification?
Yes! Please see Service Plan Renewals
When I send a customer a service plan to accept, what do they see?
Can my technicians sell plans in the field?
If my plans end after a set duration, how do we renew a customer's plan?
If you are not utilizing the Automatic Service Plan Renewal Emails, you can renew a customer's Service Plan by adding a new one of the same to their customer profile.
I want to create Service Plans for my business, where do I start?
Please see Service Plans Starter Kit
How do Service Plan payments appear in Quickbooks?
I am getting a Quickbooks error related to a Service Plan invoice, how can I resolve this?
Please see Errors Involving the Service Plans Invoice
A payment for a Service Plan has not pushed to Quickbooks, what do I do?
From the customer's Service Plan on their profile you can manually push invoices to Quickbooks Online. Go to the customer's profile > Click the downward facing arrow to the right of the address the Service Plan is assigned to > Select the Service Plan in question > Scroll down to the Billing Cycle.
If the RSA-# is in black, the invoice has not yet pushed to Quickbooks Online. Click 'Push to Quickbooks'. When the invoice has pushed over the RSA-# will appear in blue.
I have customers who have already paid for their plan, but I want to add it to their customer profile in Housecall Pro, is that possible?
Yes. For customers who have an active Service Plan with your company, a plan can be added to their customer profile to reflect their current status. Go to the customer's profile > Click '+ Service Plan' > Make the start date the past date at which it began > If any of the visits have already occurred they can be marked as completed > Select 'Accept plan for customer' > Select 'My customer has already paid for this plan'
I'm trying to merge two customers, but I'm getting an error that says one of them has a Service Plan. Why can't I complete this action?
If a customer has ever had a Service Plan attached to their profile (active, expired, cancelled, deleted, etc.) their profile cannot be merged with another after that.
Customer profiles are unable to be merged due to the ability to attach a card on file with a service plan. Even if the plan is deleted, the card will still remain tied to the account, and we aren’t able to move that to a new customer profile for security reasons.